Teacher Retirement Poem

I was asked to write this for a retirement reception for some special ed and kindergarten teachers. You may not understand it all, since it is specific to our school, policies, their sayings, and duties.  Please remember this is copyrighted work. I will happily grant permission for use ONLY if you ASK and credit me, just leave a comment below. I’d like to see  all the places this little poem travels : ) Please check out my poetry book, From the Depths of Red Bluff, too.  Thanks!

 

Seeds You’ve Sown

by Wynne Huddleston

No bells to alarm,
no papers to correct
no parents to charm,
nor money to collect,

no mindless repetition,
no children left behind,
no scolding, admonitions
no young minds to refine,

no discipline forms to fill,
no watching out for bullies,
no walking up the hill,
no cold morning duties,

no uniforms, no calming
kindergartners’ fears.
From SPED and I.E.P.s
to mainstreamed and Tiers–

whatever the “powers
that be” contrived–
you put in the hours
and somehow survived.

Amidst chasing rabbits,
tornado procedures,
correcting bad habits,
and calling legislatures,

you still found time to give
a smile, a nod, a touch,
a cougar buck or high-five,
things that meant so much

to a struggling girl or boy.
Now you have done your best
time to go out and enjoy,
or maybe get some rest!

But this is not the end
bells will continue to ring
and surely you, my friend,
will be reminded each spring

that the seeds of wisdom you’ve sown
will become fruitful trees
and in turn, when full grown,
will replant those same seeds.

©Wynne Huddleston 2011

 

Joyce's Poem

27 thoughts on “Teacher Retirement Poem

  1. This poem left me a heart felt message; for we dont really appreciate our teachers until we’re old enough to realize the lessons we’ve learnt – and by the time we are our old teacher’s age, we strive to aim the message across. This truly touched my heart, and I hope that it has for you too.

  2. One of the finest poems I have read. You are quite the rhymer here, and that is where my heart lies… well, with the writer, too.

  3. I work with special ed. children and the staff member I work with will be retiring; in fact, our librarian is also retiring and I wish to include both “Seeds you’ve Sown” and “Time to Re-Joyce” in our (staff/Student) goodbyes to these two wonderfully talented people. Please grant me permission to do so as your message is ever so beautifully written. You most certainly will receive credit for the written work which you richly deserve!!

    Thank You,
    Diane

  4. [Wynne] your heartfelt, sincere poem inspired me to write my own for several of my colleagues leaving the profession! Thank you for sharing! Fond regards,

  5. I would love to print this off and give it to my grandmother. She just retired after 30 yrs from Ragland School in Ragland, Alabama. Thanks in advance :)

  6. I would love to share your poem with one of our special teachers who is retiring. You described her experience in many ways. So may I share this with her at her retirement gathering? Chris

  7. I would like to give this poem to 3 of our teachers retiring at the end of school (Next week). May I have your persmission to give your beautiful poem to these 3 wonderful ladies who have committed their lives to teaching.

  8. Love your poem – it would be perfect to read to two of our retiring teachers! May I have your permission to do so. – Thank you! – Judith

  9. Hi, I think your poem is beautiful and would like to give it to the teacher I work for. I am a para in a second grade classroom.
    Thanks,
    Jennifer

Leave a Reply

