Grandparent’s Day is September 12

 

Grandparents Day will soon be here! If you still have your grandparents,you are lucky; if you don’t, I hope you have a lot of memories. A wonderful book full of poetry and prose about such memories can be read in From the Porch Swing — memories of our grandparents. This is another outstanding Silver Boomer Book that would make a great present for your grandparent(s) or to help rekindle your memories of them. I’m honored to have two poems, “Grandpa, King of Checkers” and “Where Muscadines Grow” along with a funny little story about gathering eggs at Grandma’s house, “Don’t Call Me Chicken!”  The book is on sale now through Sept. 12 for $11 plus additional offers on other books (I don’t profit).

 

Grandpa George Estes and Grandma Lois Estes

Grandpa Lee Huddleston and Grandma Alice Huddleston's 50th

I’m a grandma myself (Nee Nee) to a beautiful granddaughter and darling little grandson.  I often think about how my grandmothers were just about perfect! Godly, loving, selfless, generous, and caring. I don’t think there is any way I could live up to how wonderful they were! I just pray that my grands will have SOME happy memories of visiting Nee Nee’s house! And I especially hope they know how very much I love them!   

Wynne, sister Donna, cousin Daniel

My sister Donna  just recently achieved Grandmotherhood with the birth of her son and daughter-in-law’s beautiful baby girl. This is the first girl born into our family since I was born (mom and dad do have 2 adopted great-granddaughters)… The three of us girls had all boys, who in turn had boys until now. How spoiled will she be? My sister Barbra is Bee Bee, Donna is Nona and I’m Nee Nee. Well, it could be worse–dad used to call us #1, #2 and #3!

Leave a Reply

